In praise of John McCormack

Just returned from the old country, where the familial ties that bind were pulled tighter and I got hopelessly drunk on sentiment. Among the treasures I unearthed while there was Angel’s Serenade, a John McCormack compilation of religious songs. It’s nearly enough to make a believer of me.

But not quite. McCormack came from Athlone, the next big town west of my own home place of Mullingar. He was a big deal, trained by Vincenzo Sabatini in Milan, a star in Pietro Mascagni’s Cavalleria Rusticana at Covent Garden and later in America, and compared favourably to none other than Enrico Caruso. Someone to swell Irish hearts with pride.

I knew none of this while growing up. McCormack didn’t even occupy a position on the periphery of my particular orbit. He belonged to another time and, perhaps more accurately, another class. The kind that made opera and classical music elitist. It wasn’t for the likes of me.

Then I read an interview with Tom Waits in which he cited McCormack as an influence. If you listen to ‘Innocent When You Dream’ from Waits’ Frank’s Wild Years, you’ll hear that influence explicitly. Anyway, if McCormack was alright with Tom, he was alright with me. I’ve been a devotee ever since. Have a look at this clip and you’ll realise why.

3 Comments

Filed under John McCormack, Tom Waits, Uncategorized

3 responses to “In praise of John McCormack

  1. CR

    McCormack is/was brilliant. But I disagree with yr class comment… at least in the 1940s and 50s Dublin his discs were played in many working people’s homes – and were much loved.

  2. CR

    Also he gave good quotes: “I live again the days and evenings of my long career. I dream at night of operas and concerts in which I have had my share of success. Now like the old Irish minstrel, I have hung up my harp because my songs are all sung.”

    • Plastic Paddy

      I prefer Josef Locke. ‘Hear My Song’? I certainly do Mr Locke. He also had a good story. McCormack is of course a splendid voice but it’s all down to taste in the end.

Leave a Reply

